The Results Are In: Our 2020 Board Election Winners

The staff administrators of the recent SF Bicycle Coalition board elections congratulate the winners: Jean Kao, Tyler Morris, Stephen Braitsch, Audrey Harris, Marie Jonas, Manoj Madhavan, and Constance Cavallas.

We thank the additional three candidates: Robin Abad, Esther Gallagher and Danielle Thoe.

Members cast a total of 991 tallied ballots: 100 percent were cast online with zero members voting in-person at the SF Bicycle Coalition office through the vendor website. This represents 10 percent of the 10,260 members entitled to vote in the election. There were also 5 abstentions and 16 write-in candidates.

Voting and tabulation was administered using third-party vendor ElectionBuddy to meet the ranked-choice voting rules added to our bylaws by the board in 2017. Most members were able to vote without any assistance from the election administrators. However, as expected with any vendor that provides ranked-choice voting services, a small subset of members required assistance to vote due to issues with email deliverability into their inbox. With significantly increased support from election administrators and other staff, all members who sent an email to were assisted and able to vote. All who were members in good standing by Jan. 8, 2020 were eligible to vote.

Details on the entire 2020 Board of Directors election process are available¬†here. And details on this election’s round-by-round results are here. For more information about multi-winner ranked-choice voting,¬†click here. This election was conducted using¬†Meek’s Single Transferable Vote method.

The first board meeting with the newly elected members will be held on Feb. 25, 2020. We look forward to working with the winners, who will serve terms of two years on our board of directors alongside the existing board members whose terms have not expired. And we thank you, our wonderful members, for making your voices heard in this election.

We also want to express our gratitude to outgoing board members who chose not to run for re-election: Jane Natoli, Mary Kay Chin, Shirley Johnson and Andy Thornley. Thanks for your years of service.

Not yet a member or need to renew? Join or renew today to support our work for better biking all year long.

Become a member and you'll improve your commute and get discounts at shops across the city.