Bike the Vote
Bike the Vote 2019

Your San Francisco Bicycle Coalition Board is proud to endorse Matt Haney in the special election for Assembly District 17.


On Thursday, December 9 the SF Bicycle Coalition, Seamless Bay Area, Senior & Disability Action, SF Transit Riders, and Walk San Francisco held a virtual candidate forum for Assembly District 17 candidates, moderated by SF Examiner’s Carly Graf. This forum focused on a wide range of bicycle, pedestrian, transit, and transportation issues.

How It Works

Special Election for AD 17

All candidates will appear on the same ballot in a special election on February 15, 2022. If one candidate gets over 50% of the vote, that candidate is elected. If no candidate reaches 50%, the top two vote getters will compete in a runoff election on April 19. For both elections, the Department of Elections will automatically send vote-by-mail ballots to every registered voter.

Our Endorsements Process

The SF Bicycle Coalition Board is considering whether and who to endorse in this election. For this special election with a condensed timescale the process will include:

  1. Candidate questionnaires are shared with all candidates and completed questionnaires are posted below
  2. An online candidate forum to hear directly from candidates on important transportation issues. View recording here.
  3. An extensive public comment period with a deadline of January 14
  4. Our board of directors reviews questionnaires, public comment, and past history of candidates to determine the final endorsement
  5. We share our endorsement and encourage our members to Bike the Vote in February.

Our new political endorsements process includes a more thoughtful approach to elections, with public comment earlier in the process for better consideration. To ensure your comment can be referenced throughout our lengthy process and gets fully included into our decision-making, we encourage you to email no later than January 14. Please also include any reference material you see as important for your position.

Get Involved

Get to know where all the candidates stand on biking and transportation issues.

Have more thoughts? Reach out to our board of directors today.

Learn more about voting, where to vote, and check your voter registration.