2018 Board Elections Results

The staff administrators of the recent SF Bicycle Coalition board elections congratulate the winners: Robin Abad Ocubillo, Mary Kay Chin, Shirley Johnson, Marie Jonas, Jean Kao, Jane Natoli and Andy Thornley.

We thank the additional seven candidates: John Beckmann, Bekki Bolthouse, Preston Rhea, Dana Seabury, Kelli Shields, Abigail Tinker and Matt Wisniewski.

Members cast a total of 1,088 valid ballots: 100 percent were cast online, with two members voting in-person at the SF Bicycle Coalition office through the vendor website. This represents 11 percent of the members entitled to vote in the election — on par with recent years. There were also 12 abstentions and 10 write-in candidates, none of whom drew more than one vote each.

Voting and tabulation was administered using third-party vendor ElectionBuddy to meet the ranked-choice voting rules recently added to our bylaws by the board. Most members were able to vote without any assistance from the election administrators. However, as expected with any vendor that provides ranked-choice voting services, a small subset of members required assistance to vote due to issues with email deliverability into their inbox. With significantly increased support from election administrations and other staff, all members who contacted staff were eventually able to vote.

Four members were added to the system after the election started: two members had renewed by mail prior to the deadline, but their materials were not processed until the after election started, and two members did not have an email address on file at the start of the election.

Details on the entire 2018 Board of Directors election process are available here. And details on this election’s round-by-round results are here. For more information about multi-winner ranked-choice voting, click here. This election was conducted using Meek’s Single Transferable Vote method. This blog post details how our board of directors were elected and the concepts of multi-winner ranked-choice voting.

The first board meeting with the newly-elected members will be held in Feb. 27, 2018. We look forward to working with the winners, who will serve terms of two years on our board of directors alongside the existing board members whose terms have not expired. And we thank you, our wonderful members, for making your voices heard in this election.

We also want to express our gratitude to outgoing board members who chose not to run for re-election: Lisa Fisher, Jenn Fox, Lawrence Li and Leah Shahum. Thanks for your years of service.

Not yet a member or need to renew? Join or renew today to support our work for better biking all year long.

Become a member and you'll improve your commute and get discounts at shops across the city.